State grants secured to support two local projects

HARRISBURG, Dec. 6 – Two local projects will benefit from more than $300,000 in state grant funds state Rep. Paul Costa, D-Allegheny, and state Sen. Jay Costa, D-Allegheny, announced today.

The grants were funded by the Commonwealth Financing Authority. The CFA is an independent state agency responsible for administering Pennsylvania’s economic stimulus packages, including the Multimodal and Act 13 funds. 

In West Homestead, the $71,685 grant will be used to replace 1,010 linear feet of sidewalk along the south side of state Route 837 in the borough. Handicapped access ramps will also be installed at two intersections along the route. The project is estimated to cost more than $102,000.

"This funding is crucial for the borough to continue to make necessary improvements to its infrastructure," Rep. Costa said. "I applaud the officials who worked on these grants for the betterment of our local community."

The CFA also approved funds to support an environmental assessment and structural inspection of the Carrie Furnace ‘hot metal bridge’ in Swissvale Borough. The $313,305 grant will be used to evaluate the structure and its existing paint system to assess contaminate levels and develop necessary remediation and rehabilitation plans.

"The Carrie Furnace Bridge remains a critical component of our transportation infrastructure in Allegheny County and we remain focused on making improvements to bring it back online," Sen. Costa said. "These grant funds will allow us to provide necessary maintenance and plan for any future needs to ensure the safety of not only the bridge and those traveling on it, but also the surrounding community and waterways."

The CFA was established in 2004 as an independent agency of the Department of Community and Economic Development to administer Pennsylvania's economic stimulus packages. The CFA holds fiduciary responsibility over the funding of programs and investments in Pennsylvania's economic growth. The CFA consists of seven board members: four legislative appointees and the secretaries of DCED, the Office of the Budget and Department of Banking.