Area municipalities honored for good governance

Rep. Dom Costa congratulates 6 area municipalities named 2015 Banner Communities

The Allegheny League of Municipalities officials and Allegheny County Executive Rich Fitzgerald announced this month that 42 area municipalities have been selected as 2015 Banner Communities for good, inclusive and collaborative governance.

The 21st Legislative District is home to first-time honoree Shaler Township, second-year Banner Communities of O’Hara Township, Millvale and Sharpsburg boroughs, as well as three-peat communities Etna Borough, Reserve Township and Ross Township.

It’s my distinct pleasure to congratulate the municipalities’ elected officials and staff whose work contributes every day to great successes such as this.

Of course, it’s about more than recognition – the municipalities’ success reflects greatly on the engaged citizens who call our region home. I look forward to bringing you more good news, and please know that my office is available to help with any state program or service. Feel free to contact my office any time.