PLBC hosts 2017 scholarship reception

HARRISBURG, June 30 – State Rep. Jordan Harris, D-Phila., said the Pennsylvania Legislative Black Caucus today hosted its annual scholarship reception.

Harris, chairman of the Pennsylvania Legislative Black Caucus, said the reception recognized nine Pennsylvania high school seniors and current undergraduate students of color as recipients of the PLBC scholarship program.

“Since its establishment in 1973, the Pennsylvania Legislative Black Caucus has been committed to serving the needs of people of color throughout Pennsylvania,” Harris said. “I am honored as chairman to host our seventh annual scholarship program. I firmly believe that we should not only make college more accessible, but also ourselves as elected officials. This scholarship program is about showing young people that we have their backs and to encourage them to be active in the political process.”

The scholarship is intended to assist students with their college financial obligation and to foster a relationship between students and PLBC members. Recipients received a $1,000 scholarship to attend an accredited two- or four-year college or university in Pennsylvania. Exceptions apply for students attending any historically black college or university.

“This year’s round of scholarship applicants was particularly competitive with many outstanding candidates,” Harris said. “Each applicant possessed outstanding academic achievements and leadership abilities. Our scholarship committee enjoyed reading each application and learning more about the students we represent.”

The 2017 scholarship recipients are:

Recipient Name:


State Representative:

State Senator:

Khayla Coleman-Smith

Lincoln University

Rep. Jordan Harris

Sen. Anthony Williams

Brittni Collins

Drexel University

Rep. Donna Bullock

Sen. Vincent Hughes

Manthita Diawara

LaSalle University

Rep. Jason Dawkins

Sen. Christine Tartaglione

Djavon Dupree

Temple University

Rep. Isabella Fitzgerald

Sen. Art Haywood

Alan Noel Jr.

Hampton University

Rep. Ronald Marsico

Sen. John DiSanto

Jordan Pollard

Duquesne University

Rep. Ed Gainey

Sen. Randy Vulakovich

Jade Ryan

Millersville University

Rep. Morgan Cephas

Sen. Vincent Hughes

Taylor Stringer

Penn State University

Rep. Joseph Markosek

Sen. Jim Brewster

Monee Williams-Patrick

Lincoln University

Rep. Rosita Youngblood

Sen. Sharif Street

Recipients were selected based on their academic success, demonstrated leadership abilities, extracurricular and community participation, and financial need.

The winners were addressed by Harris; Rep. Donna Bullock, PLBC vice chairwoman; Democratic Leader Frank Dermody; Speaker of the House Mike Turzai; Reps. Jason Dawkins, Morgan Cephas, Isabella Fitzgerald and Rosita Youngblood, Democratic Caucus secretary. 

Video of the reception can be viewed here