State Rep. Mike Sturla

Chairman, Democratic Policy Committee

State Rep. Steve Santarsiero


Hearing Co-Chairman



HDPC examines Marcellus Shale Advisory Commission’s Report


NEWTOWN, July 27 – The House Democratic Policy Committee today held a public hearing at the Chancellor Center about Marcellus Shale issues, according to Chairman Mike Sturla, D-Lancaster.


State Rep. Steve Santarsiero, D-Bucks, requested the hearing and served as the co-chairman. The hearing focused largely on the recently released report of the Governor’s Marcellus Shale Advisory Commission.


Sturla said, "The Policy Committee has adopted a balanced approach of hearing from all the state's interested parties about Marcellus Shale issues. It was irresponsible for the governor's commission to rely heavily on the very people who stand to profit the most while minimizing the voice of the groups representing Pennsylvanians. I commend Representative Santarsiero for his environmental leadership in requesting this hearing today, so we can begin our public examination of the commission’s report.”


Santarsiero added, “The Marcellus Shale natural gas drilling industry is bringing great economic benefits to our state and to many of our citizens. However, we can’t ignore the fact that drilling accidents have occurred. It would be irresponsible of us to not properly regulate drilling here in Pennsylvania. As the prevalence of this industry grows in our state, we need to make sure we take the appropriate precautions to protect our citizens, our communities and our valuable natural resources. These were the primary issues discussed at today’s hearing.”


Those testifying at the hearing included: John Hanger, former secretary, state Department of Environmental Protection; David Simcox and Edward Lignowski, co-creators of Marcellus Shale 8 Point Plan; Tracy Carluccio, deputy director, Delaware Riverkeeper Network; David Masur, director, PennEnvironment; Michael Wood, research director, Pennsylvania Budget and Policy Center; Elizabeth Tatham, member, The League of Women Voters of Bucks County; and David Sanko, executive director, Pennsylvania State Association of Township Supervisors.


For more information about the Policy Committee and hearing materials, visit