Philadelphia House Delegation congratulates new city leaders

New mayor and council president are former state representatives

HARRISBURG, Jan. 3 – Today, leaders of the Philadelphia House Delegation expressed their excitement for the inauguration of Cherelle Parker as the first woman and 100th Philadelphian to serve as mayor of Philadelphia.

The delegation also congratulated Councilmember Kenyatta Johnson for his election by his peers as the new Philadelphia City Council president, replacing outgoing President Darrell L. Clarke who is retiring. Parker and Johnson both previously served in the state House of Representatives and as members of the Philadelphia House Delegation, with Parker elected twice as chairwoman of the delegation during her tenure.

Delegation Chairwoman Morgan Cephas praised the new mayor for her leadership abilities and plan for moving Philadelphia forward.

“Mayor Parker has a bold vision for this city which she has wasted no time putting into action, signing three executive orders on her historic first day in office,” Cephas said. “Having the two top leaders of our city with a background in Harrisburg policymaking serves as a solid foundation of understanding that can only increase opportunities and communication between state and city government. I look forward to working with the new administration and city council on uplifting the quality of life for all Philadelphians.”

Vice chairman of the delegation, Rep. Danilo Burgos, commended the record of public service and unflinching work of both leaders.

“I see in Mayor Cherelle Parker and the Philadelphia City Council President Kenyatta Johnson two powerful allies in our crusade to tackle the most pressing issues affecting Philadelphia,” Burgos said. “I am confident that our collaboration and the impact of joining forces at state and city level will be a transcendental chapter in the history of our city.”

Rep. Ben Waxman, chairman of the Philadelphia House Delegation Intergovernmental Affairs Subcommittee, said that he will be in regular contact with the new administration to ensure smooth handling of city and state projects.

"I am incredibly excited to collaborate with the dedicated leaders taking the helm of our city. The avenues of cooperation between the new city administration and the Philadelphia House Delegation are wide open. I know that the wealth of Harrisburg experience in the new administration will make this partnership even more productive for the people of Philadelphia."

Parker and Johnson took their oaths of office in separate ceremonies in Philadelphia.

The Philadelphia House Delegation is comprised of 25 members in the state House of Representatives whose districts are in whole or in part of the county of the First Class in Pennsylvania.