Burns: Paul Dillon selected as 2021 Charlie Vizzini Volunteerism Award winner

Dillon has dedicated years of service to Cresson through food banks and more

CRESSON, Nov. 19 – Paul Dillon, a steadfast volunteer and pillar of the Cresson community, has been named the recipient of the 2021 Charlie Vizzini Volunteerism Award by state Rep. Frank Burns, D-Cambria.

“People like Dillon are the driving force behind the continued success of Cambria County communities,” Burns said. “It gives me great pleasure to recognize his relentless dedication to improving the Cresson area.”

Dillon is a retired business owner and a lifelong resident of Cresson. At the age of 68, he remains a highly active volunteer and is frequently sought after by community organizers due to his successful track record with local projects.

For nine years, Dillon has volunteered as the food service manager for the Cresson American Legion, where he orchestrates catering for various civic and non-profit events. During the same nine years, he has worked weekly at the Cresson Area Food Pantry, helping countless residents access meals by unloading trucks, stocking shelves and distributing food.

Burns said his volunteer endeavors extend far beyond food service. Dillon is currently the treasurer of the Eastern Cambria Chamber of Commerce, president of the Pastoral Council at Saint Francis Church, a volunteer coordinator for the state Transportation Department's Adopt-A-Highway, and an annual volunteer at many community events.

“The Charlie Vizzini Volunteerism Award is meant to shine a light on those who donate their precious time and energy to create positive changes in their communities,” Burns said. “Dillon is a model recipient and I’m confident his actions will inspire many others to volunteer.”

The award is named after Charlie Vizzini, who has amassed more than 9,000 hours by volunteering in Burns’ legislative office – fielding more than 1,000 constituent service matters and saving taxpayers well over $100,000.

2021 marks the sixth year Burns has given the annual award.