Democratic lawmakers select Dawkins to lead Philadelphia Delegation in Pa. House

HARRISBURG, Nov. 14 – Rep. Jason Dawkins, D-Phila., will serve as chairman of the Philadelphia County Delegation for the 2019-20 legislative session.

Democratic lawmakers of the delegation selected Dawkins during leadership elections on Tuesday. Dawkins said the leadership team is filled out by state Rep.-elect Malcolm Kenyatta, who will serve as vice chairman, and state Rep.-elect Elizabeth Fiedler as treasurer and secretary.

“This new slate of leadership represents the direction of Philadelphia as a whole – inclusion, diversity, and progressive values,” Dawkins said. “I look forward to continuing my role as a leader and member of the delegation to move Philadelphia forward.”

The Philadelphia delegation has been successful in pushing for legislation to address “stop-and-go” nuisance market areas, state funding for gun violence reduction, police-community relations, and getting more funding for school safety, business development and transportation grants within the Philadelphia area.

“I grew up in Philadelphia, and I will continue to work tirelessly to make sure Philadelphians know they are taken care of,” Dawkins said. “By working together toward a common goal, we can ensure that Philadelphia remains an economic powerhouse for Pennsylvania.”

For the last two years, Dawkins served as the delegation’s vice chairman.