Harkins: Legislative Audit Advisory Commission accepts audit of General Assembly’s 2023 finances

Report is available online

HARRISBURG, Feb. 7 – State Rep. Pat Harkins, majority chairman of the bicameral Legislative Audit Advisory Commission, announced that the commission met Tuesday and accepted the independent audit of the General Assembly’s finances for 2023.

Harkins, D-Erie, said that as majority chairman, he will continue to ensure the commission fulfills its responsibility of keeping the public informed about the General Assembly’s finances.

“Ensuring continued transparency of the budgets and finances of the General Assembly is fundamental to good government,” Harkins said. “Being the majority chairman provides me with unique insight as we continuously strive to keep the public fully informed about the finances of the Pennsylvania House and Senate.

“Working aside Representative Dunbar has made my transition to majority chairman of the commission seamless, allowing us to focus on delivering this constitutionally mandated report. I thank him for his unwavering dedication to ensuring government is working effectively and efficiently. In addition, I would like to personally thank Gregory Jordan for volunteering countless hours of his time throughout the last several years as a public member of the commission. Gregory’s dedication to the commission’s obligations exemplifies what it means to be a public servant.”

Harkins said the audit the commission reviewed – conducted by the independent certified public accounting firm Boyer & Ritter LLC – revealed a $298.6 million reserve as of June 30, 2023.

The LAAC is responsible for conducting the annual financial audit under Article VIII, Section 10 of the Pennsylvania Constitution.

In addition to Harkins, other commission members include State Rep. George Dunbar, R-Westmoreland; state Sens. Maria Collett, D-Bucks/Montgomery, and Chris Gebhard, R-Berks/Lancaster/Lebanon; public members Peter Barsz and Phil Rudy (appointed by the PA House); and public members Gregory Jordan (now resigned) and Ira Weiss (appointed by the PA Senate).

A copy of the audit, prior audits and more information about the commission is available at https://www.legis.state.pa.us/cfdocs/cteeInfo/laac.cfm.