House Democrats choose leaders for new session

HARRISBURG, Nov. 13 – Members of a significantly stronger House Democratic Caucus today re-elected Rep. Frank Dermody to lead them in the 2019-20 session along with a leadership team featuring several new faces.


“More Democratic candidates successfully flipped seats to our side this year than in any election in the last 44 years,” said Dermody, D-Allegheny/Westmoreland. “I’m honored to be chosen to continue leading the House Democratic Caucus as we go forward together, fighting for our Plan For Pennsylvania.”


Dermody noted that 30 of the 93 Democrats elected to the House are women, the largest number ever. Overall, 24 new people are joining the House Democratic ranks to serve their first term as lawmakers.


In other caucus elections held today, Rep. Jordan Harris of Philadelphia was chosen as Democratic whip, responsible for making sure that Democrats attend session and understand the specifics of legislation. Harris, 34, was first elected to the House in 2012 and is currently chairman of the Pennsylvania Legislative Black Caucus.


Rep. Matt Bradford of Montgomery County will chair the Democratic side of the House Appropriations Committee. He has served in the House since 2008 and previously was Democratic chairman of the State Government Committee.


Rep. Joanna McClinton will be the new caucus chair, responsible for conducting caucus meetings on each day of voting session. She represents the 191st District in parts of Philadelphia and Delaware County and has served in the House since 2015.


Rep. Rosita Youngblood of Philadelphia was re-elected caucus secretary. Rep. Mike Sturla of Lancaster will serve again as chairman of the Democratic Policy Committee. And Rep. Neal Goodman of Schuylkill County was chosen again to serve as caucus administrator.


All the Democratic members who are returning to office in 2019 as well as the 24 newly elected Democrats took part in today’s meeting to choose their leadership team.


The full House will be sworn in and begin the new session at noon on Jan. 1, 2019.