Madden resolution honors East Stroudsburg University for its 125th anniversary

HARRISBURG, Oct. 17 – The House of Representatives this week unanimously adopted a resolution introduced by state Rep. Maureen Madden, D-Monroe, honoring East Stroudsburg University’s 125th anniversary of its founding.


“For more than a century, East Stroudsburg University has played a monumental role in the educational, economic and cultural landscape of Monroe County and beyond. Its persistence to offer quality and affordable education to students from all backgrounds is truly remarkable. I applaud the Warriors for their continued excellence, and I look forward to seeing the prosperity of the university for years to come.”


Madden noted she is a member of the East Stroudsburg Community, and served as a professor before being elected to represent the 115th Legislative District. 


The institution of higher education was founded on Sept. 4, 1893 and welcomed 320 students to its two-year programs in elementary and science education. The school was named East Stroudsburg State College in 1960 before officially becoming East Stroudsburg University in 1983.


Today, East Stroudsburg University is home to more than 6,000 students and offers 57 undergraduate programs, 21 master’s degree programs and one doctoral program. It is one of the 14 institutions in the Pennsylvania State System of Higher Education, and strives to create an environment where each and every student can learn, grow and achieve.