McNeill lauds $37,780 in school safety grants

HARRISBURG, Oct. 18 – State Rep. Jeanne McNeill, D-Lehigh, announced today the Catasauqua Area School District, Whitehall-Coplay School District and Saint Elizabeth Regional School are receiving a combined $37,780 in school safety grants.

McNeill said the funding will enable these local schools to prevent and reduce violent incidents by providing training and compensation for school resource and police officers and acquire safety and security-related equipment.

“These funds will ensure that students can learn, grow and thrive in a safe and secure environment,” McNeill said. “I am pleased to see the state prioritizing the safety of our kids and teachers, while giving families some much needed peace of mind.”

The Catasauqua Area School District is awarded $24,921 in the form of a 2019-20 equipment grant. The Whitehall-Coplay School District is also awarded an equipment grant of $9,000. Saint Elizabeth Regional School is awarded $3,859 in the form of a 2019-20 program grant.

This funding is part of the $7.3 million in School Safety Grants the Pennsylvania Department of Education is awarding to both public and non-public school districts throughout the commonwealth.