Mullery: Local school districts approved for school safety grants

NANTICOKE, Nov. 2 – State Rep. Gerald Mullery, D-Luzerne, announced today that several local school districts were approved for school safety grants by the state School Safety and Security Committee.

Crestwood School District, Greater Nanticoke Area School District, Hanover Area School District, Hazleton Area School District, and Wyoming Valley West School District each received $25,000 to support one or more practices in their districts that promote school safety.

“Continuing to ensure that our students are safe day in and day out while at school is an issue I take very seriously,” Mullery said. “I am happy to see this important funding come to the different school districts in my legislative district, and I look forward to continue working with school leaders to maximize funding for our students.”

The School Safety and Security Committee was established within the Pennsylvania Commission on Crime and Delinquency by Act 44 of 2018. School districts were able to submit to the committee an application to receive $25,000. The approved schools can use the funding for a variety of services, including purchasing security-related technology, hiring school resource officers, school police officers, school counselors, social workers and school psychologists or supporting school safety-related trainings.

Mullery said that he noted his thanks to Gov. Tom Wolf and his administration’s dedication to enhancing school safety across Pennsylvania.

A full list of approved school districts and more information about the committee can be found on the Pennsylvania Commission on Crime and Delinquency’s School Safety and Security webpage.