Mullery, Pashinski announce school safety grants awarded to local school districts

HARRISBURG, Feb. 26 – State funding in the amount of $362,800 through the School Safety and Security Grant Program has been awarded to six local school districts, state Reps. Gerald Mullery and Eddie Day Pashinski, both D-Luzerne, announced today.

“The safety of our children and the security of our schools is one of my most critical priorities,” Mullery said. “Funding like this allows our schools to develop initiatives and programs that ensure student safety, and I am pleased to be working with our school districts to secure these funds.”

“Our children deserve to learn, and our teachers deserve to work in the safest possible environment,” Pashinski said. “I am happy to see this funding coming back to our school districts to improve safety and security in their buildings.”

The school districts that received funding are:

  • Crestwood School District - $40,000
  • Greater Nanticoke Area School District - $40,000
  • Hanover Area School District - $40,000
  • Hazleton Area School District - $152,800
  • Wilkes-Barre Area School District - $45,000
  • Wyoming Valley West School District - $45,000

The funds will be provided through the Pennsylvania Commission on Crime and Delinquency’s School Safety and Security Committee. This committee is the result of Act 44 of 2018, and is responsible for establishing the standards schools must meet when performing school safety and security assessments.

The funds can be used for a wide variety of programs that address school safety, including risk assessment and violence-prevention efforts, classroom management, conflict resolution or dispute management initiatives, and the installation or purchase of technology related to school and student safety.