McNeill appointed chair of Northeast Democratic Delegation

HARRISBURG, March 21 – Looking to build on the continued success of the Northeast region in the Commonwealth, state Rep. Jeanne McNeill assumed the role of chair of the Northeast Democratic Delegation in the PA House of Representatives today, a role previously held by state Rep. Maureen Madden.

“I am proud to have this opportunity to represent the Northeast by being appointed to chair of the Northeast Delegation and I must thank Representative Madden for all of her great work in this role advocating for the region and us as members in this region,” said McNeill. “The northeast region of Pennsylvania is filled with diverse communities, and I look forward to working with my colleagues as part of this delegation to assist them on how to best serve their communities.

“I can confidently say that all members in this region have worked hard for those they serve, whether that be hosting outreach events to remind their constituents that they are available for them or working hard to acquire state funding for their community so that our region can continue to move forward and not backward. I am proud of the work they have done, and I believe that pride is equally reflected in their districts.”

Under the leadership of the previous chair and previous vice chair, Madden and McNeill respectively, the Northeast Democratic Delegation supported a variety of projects, including securing millions of dollars in funding for passenger rail, airport infrastructure, and health care renovations and improvements.

“It is important to remember that, while having the chair position is important, all legislators in this region are working equally as hard to make their community better and make this region stand out in a positive way,” McNeill said. “The whole is greater than the sum of its parts and that remains true in this scenario, and I am proud that I can continue to advocate for the success of our communities in this new role.”

The Northeast Democratic Delegation in 2023-24 includes 16 Democratic members from Berks, Lehigh, Lackawanna, Luzerne, Monroe, Northampton and Pike counties. In addition to the newly appointed chair, the list includes state Reps. Robert Freeman, Kyle Mullins, Eddie Day Pashinski, Mark Rozzi, Steve Samuelson, Mike Schlossberg, Peter Schweyer, Johanny Cepeda-Freytiz, Kyle Donahue, Jim Haddock, Tarah Probst and Josh Siegel.

McNeill’s appointment as chair comes after Madden was appointed to chair of the House Aging and Older Adult Services Committee.