Davidson makes history again as the first African-American woman elected Southeast Delegation's Chair with the new leadership team

HARRISBURG, Nov. 15 – The Southeast Delegation of the state House Democratic Caucus has elected the first African-American woman to chair the delegation, Rep. Margo Davidson, D-Delaware. 

Davidson is the second-most senior legislator in Delaware County. She was elected in 2010 as the first female, the first African-American and the first Democrat ever elected to represent her district. She is also the first Democratic woman ever elected from Delaware County in the history of the commonwealth. 

Davidson will continue to make history as chairwoman, leading the 33-member delegation which is the largest and fastest-growing delegation in the Democratic Caucus, including 16 women and five people of color. The delegation serves the people in the eight counties that make up the delegation: Berks, Bucks, Chester, Dauphin, Delaware, Lancaster, Montgomery and York. Davidson and the delegation will be selecting vice chairpeople and other officials by the second session day in January 2019.

Davidson said the recent election in which the delegation gained 14 new representatives showed that people in the Southeast want legislators who will fight for what matters most to them -- good jobs, affordable health care, a clean environment, quality schools and a fair economy for everyone. 

“I look forward to working with my colleagues on legislative initiatives that will improve the lives of all Pennsylvanians,” Davidson said. “Now is the time to fight for social and economic equity so that everyone in Pennsylvania will prosper, not just big corporations and the super rich.”

Davidson also played a critical role in the recent negotiations to have the House Democratic Caucus Leadership team reflect the greater southeast’s increased political strength in the wake of the November 2018 election, with the election of three new leaders (Reps. Matt Bradford, Jordan Harris, and Joanna McClinton) and the retention of two from the region (Reps. Mike Sturla and Rosita Youngblood).

The new session begins Dec. 1.