Bullock announces PLBC scholarship awardees

HARRISBURG, June 3 – State Rep. and PLBC Chair Donna Bullock, D-Phila., this week announced the awardees of the newly renamed James R. Roebuck Pennsylvania Legislative Black Caucus scholarship for 2021.

A virtual award ceremony will take place at 10 a.m., Wednesday, June 23. It can be viewed live on Facebook @PALegislativeBlackCaucus and pahouse.com/PLBC.

The scholarship recipients are:

Jaelynn Pearson, Philadelphia, Hill Freedman World Academy. 

Labiq Jaigirdar, Philadelphia, George Washington Carver High School of Engineering and Science.

Deiveian Story, Philadelphia, The Workshop School and Community College of Philadelphia, dual enrollment program.

Jasmine Vega, Philadelphia, Archbishop John Carroll High School.

Abronah C. Taylor, Harrisburg, Kutztown University.

Mephki Lopez, Philadelphia, Thaddeus Stevens College of Technology.

Mya Hill, Philadelphia, Saints John Neumann and Maria Goretti Catholic High School. 

Annechase Obame, Harrisburg, Central Dauphin East High School. 

Asia Blocker, Lansdowne, The Baldwin School in Bryn Mawr.

Norah Ostin, Pittsburgh, Oakland Catholic High School.

Criteria for the $1,000 scholarships:

  • A Pennsylvania resident.
  • A person of color.
  • A graduating high school senior or current undergrad at a college or university.
  • Plan to enroll/return in full-time undergraduate study at an accredited two- or four-year college or university for the entire upcoming academic year.
  • Attend the scholarship awards presentation in Harrisburg.
  • Complete the online application.

Students are also selected based on their academic success, leadership, extracurricular activities, community participation and financial need.

“These students are the best and brightest, so providing some help with the costs of college is something we as a caucus are proud to do,” Bullock said. “The price tag for a college education should not be a barrier for any student trying to get a degree. These are our future community leaders, and we should be trying to help them in any way we can.”

“Congratulations to all of these bright finalists as they embark on the next legs of their journeys,” said PLBC Scholarship Subcommittee Chair state Rep. Carol Hill-Evans, D-York. “Whenever I see a new group of seniors matriculate through this special program, I’m reminded of all the optimism and promise growing from our state and communities of colors. We must never take it for granted, but our future is in strong hands.”

"These scholarships are vital to our Black and brown students in the commonwealth of Pennsylvania. The Pennsylvania Legislative Black Caucus Foundation is proud to support this effort and increasing post-secondary opportunities for our students,” said Jasmine Sessoms,  Pennsylvania Legislative Black Caucus Foundation chair.

This year’s scholarship was renamed the James R. Roebuck Pennsylvania Legislative Black Caucus Scholarship after former state Rep. Jim Roebuck of Philadelphia. He is a former chairman of the House Education Committee and former member of the PLBC who represented the 188th Legislative District in the Pennsylvania House of Representatives from 1985-2020.