Pashinski to be Democratic chairman of Agriculture and Rural Affairs Committee for second term

HARRISBURG, Jan. 7 – State Rep. Eddie Day Pashinski, D-Luzerne, has again been named Democratic chairman of the House Agriculture and Rural Affairs Committee by Democratic Leader Frank Dermody.

“It’s a tremendous honor to again be the chairman of a committee that is so invested in our commonwealth,” Pashinski said. “Agriculture is Pennsylvania’s top industry and impacts every Pennsylvanian’s daily life whether they realize it or not."

The Agriculture and Rural Affairs Committee reviews bills that directly affect Pennsylvania’s agriculture industry, including food safety and processing, transportation, marketing, weights and measures and farm equipment and production, as well as issues that impact other rural areas of the commonwealth. The committee works in conjunction with the Department of Agriculture on boards and commissions, including the Agriculture Advisory Board, Animal Health Diagnostic Commission, Agriculture Land Preservation Board, and Controlled Plant and Noxious Weed Committee. The Controlled Plant and Noxious Weed Committee was created through Act 46 of 2017, legislation sponsored by Pashinski and signed into law by Gov. Tom Wolf.

“I look forward to working again with Republican chairman Marty Causer and continuing to build on the relationship we’ve already developed throughout the industry that’s focused on doing what’s best for Pennsylvania’s agriculture community and Pennsylvania itself,” Pashinski said. “We’re all focused on keeping the industry strong, the jobs in our state and our rural communities growing, and I’m confident we can work together to achieve those goals. Please be sure to support our Pennsylvania agriculture industry – grown in PA, by PA, PA Preferred.”

Pashinski is serving his seventh term in the House of Representatives.

His Luzerne County district includes the city of Wilkes-Barre, Wilkes-Barre Township, Ashley Borough, Fairview Township, most of Hanover Township and Laurel Run Borough.