Petrarca announces Westmoreland, Armstrong and Indiana among counties to begin reopening process

VANDERGRIFT, May 8 –Today state Rep. Joseph Petrarca announced that Westmoreland, Armstrong and Indiana counties are among those allowed to move from a red to a yellow reopening designation, effective at 12:01 a.m. Friday, May 15.

“It’s clear that the governor listened to my concerns and those of area residents and colleagues, and the data clearly shows we can begin the reopening process and will do so in a safe manner,” Petrarca said. “Today’s news means that many businesses can reopen their doors and follow the health and social distancing guidelines to ensure we continue to move forward in the pandemic recovery process.”

Petrarca said counties in the yellow designation must follow these restrictions:

Work-related restrictions:
 Telework must continue where allowed and feasible.
 Businesses with in-person operations must follow business and building safety orders.
 Childcare facilities open must comply with state guidelines.
 Congregate care and prison restrictions remain in place.
 Schools will remain closed for in-person instruction.

Social restrictions
 Stay-at-home order lifted for aggressive mitigation.
 Large gatherings of more than 25 people are prohibited.
 In-person retail is allowed, curbside and delivery preferable.
 Indoor recreation, health and wellness businesses and personal care services (such as spas, hair and nail salons, gyms and entities that provide massage therapy) and entertainment facilities (including casinos and theaters) remain closed.
 Restaurants and bars are limited to carry-out and delivery only.

More information on the reopening plan can be found at this link: