Seven Allegheny County members to lead key House committees

HARRISBURG, Jan. 7 – The Allegheny County House Democratic Delegation (ACHDD) today proudly announced that seven of its 16 members were appointed to key chair positions on House committees that handle major issues in western Pennsylvania and the state as a whole.

State Rep. Dan Miller, chair of the ACHDD for the 2019-20 legislative session, noted the importance of the delegation’s appointments.

“The ACHDD and its members take their responsibilities very seriously,” Miller said. “As Democrats, we will continue to prioritize family sustaining jobs, access to quality health care, and investments in education, and having so many of our members in the Caucus leadership will only aid in achieving those goals. Allegheny County will continue to be well-represented.”

The newly appointed chairs and their committees include:

  • Rep. Dan Deasy, Liquor Control Committee.
  • Rep. Tony DeLuca, Insurance Committee.
  • Rep. Dan Frankel, Health Committee.
  • Rep. Bill Kortz, Game and Fisheries Committee.
  • Rep. Rob Matzie, Consumer Affairs Committee.
  • Rep. Harry Readshaw, Professional Licensure Committee.
  • Rep. Jake Wheatley, Finance Committee.

The appointments were announced by state Rep. Frank Dermody, also a member of the ACHDD, who recently was unanimously re-elected as the House Democratic Caucus leader. First-time chairs include Matzie, Kortz and Deasy. All leadership positions are determined every two years.

The ACHDDs website,, features information on the delegation and its members. Constituents also are encouraged to visit the delegation’s Twitter account,, for additional updates and to reach out to individual members for more information on their goals and priorities.