Schweyer, Schlossberg detail district boundary shifts effective Dec. 1

ALLENTOWN, Dec. 17 – Significant geographic changes are in place as Allentown streamlines from four to two House legislative districts: state Rep. Mike Schlossberg’s 132nd District, whose composition changes by one-third; and state Rep. Peter Schweyer, whose newly created 22nd District takes over sections of Center City from the old 132nd District.

Schweyer, who served seven years on Allentown City Council, said he looks forward to continuing to serve the city and is currently in the process of setting up his 22nd District office, which is located at 1912 South 4th Street in Allentown.

"In the 2013-2014 session, Allentown was represented by four state representatives, making it confusing at times for residents to know who represented them," Schweyer said. "In the 2015-2016 session, Allentown will be represented by two representatives, Rep. Schlossberg and myself, and I look forward to partnering with him as strong advocates for the city.

Schweyer’s 22nd District contains former 132nd District territory comprised of Ward 1; Ward 2; Ward 3; Ward 4; Ward 5; Ward 6-1; Ward 7; Wards 8-1 and 8-2; Ward 9-1; Wards 10-1 and 10-2; Wards 11-1 and 11-2. The 22nd District also includes these former sections of the 131st District: Ward 12 (1, 2, 3, 4, 5), Ward 14-2, Ward 16 (1, 2), and Ward 19 (1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6).

Schlossberg is picking up a piece of South Whitehall and Allentown’s East Side.

"While I am sad to lose Center City Allentown with all the excitement of more than $1 billion in new investment, I am happy to have worked with leaders across the city to make these developments possible," Schlossberg said. "I am thrilled to represent the East Side of Allentown and South Whitehall, and am looking forward to continuing to work with leaders in the Parkland School District."

Schlossberg’s newly configured 132nd District now includes Allentown’s Ward 6-2; Wards 8-3, 8-4, 8-5, 8-6 and 8-7; Wards 10-3 and 10-4; Wards 11-3, 11-4, 11-5, 11-6 and 11-7; Wards 13-1, 13-2, 13-3 and 13-4; Ward 14-1; Wards 15-1, 15-2, 15-3 and 15-4; Ward 17 (1, 2, 3, 4, 4P); and Wards 18 (1, 2, 2P). In South Whitehall, the new portion of the 132nd includes Wards 1, 2 and 7.