Schlossberg honored by American Foundation for Suicide Prevention

HARRISBURG, June 1 – State Rep. Mike Schlossberg, D-Lehigh, was awarded the 2016 Allies in Action State Award this week by advocates from the Lehigh Valley Chapter of the American Foundation for Suicide Prevention.

Schlossberg was honored by the AFSP for "his great support and advocacy work for people living with mental health conditions and for removing barriers to treatment."

“Speaking out about your own lived experience with mental illness is truly breaking down stigma and removing barriers to mental health,” said Dr. Peter Langman, president of the Greater Lehigh Valley AFSP.

"Too often, people live in fear and embarrassment about their mental health struggles, which only results in wasted lives and needless pain. That is why I tell my story,” said Schlossberg. “I am deeply honored to receive this award in recognition of my work trying to uproot the stigma associated with mental illness. I will continue to speak out and fight to raise awareness about this issue."

The Allies in Action Award is presented annually to members of Congress, state legislators and advocates who have done exemplary work in preventing suicide, which is the 10th leading cause of death in the United States for all ages. 

"Mike Schlossberg has proven himself as a leader on mental health issues and has repeatedly been able to provide a unique context to matters being discussed in the House," said Democratic Leader Frank Dermody, D-Allegheny. "He is a tireless advocate for the mental health community in Pennsylvania and is truly deserving of this honor."

Schlossberg is the co-chairman and co-founder of the bipartisan Mental Health Caucus.

The American Foundation for Suicide Prevention is the largest suicide prevention organization in the United States. AFSP is dedicated to saving lives and bringing hope to those affected by suicide.

Other public officials who will be honored by the AFSP this year include U.S. Sens. Harry Reid (D-Nevada), Lamar Alexander (R-Tenn.) and Patty Murray (D-Wash.) and U.S. Rep. John Katko (R-N.Y.).