Warren appointed to three House committees

HARRISBURG, Jan. 28 – State Rep. Perry Warren, D-Bucks, announced today that he has been appointed to serve on three standing committees in the House of Representatives: Transportation, Environmental Resources and Energy, and Insurance.

“I look forward to working with my colleagues on these committees that help drive our state’s structural framework and a significant portion of its revenue,” Warren said. “As a member of the Transportation Committee, I recognize Pennsylvania’s aging infrastructure uniquely affects our district. We must improve our interstate highways, railways and bridges, while creating supporting jobs to boost our economy.”

Warren was appointed to the Environmental Resources and Energy Committee, which works with the Department of Conservation and Natural Resources to establish regulations on environmental issues, including air and water quality, and waste management.

“People in our communities are deeply engaged with and concerned about environmental issues,” Warren said. “I will continue to advocate for legislation and policy that preserves our environment, as well as working with PECO and the water and sewer authorities that serve our communities.”

Warren will also serve on the Insurance Committee, which reviews bills that regulate home, auto and health insurance, as well as fraternal society group benefits. It also oversees the state Department of Insurance, the State Workmen’s Insurance Board and the Underground Storage Indemnification Fund.

“Insurance issues are a challenging part of our society,” Warren said. “That is why I will work to ensure insurance for pre-existing conditions, while concentrating on expanding access to coverage and cost containment.

“All of these committee assignments provide an opportunity to positively influence legislation that will impact our lives, and I am excited to be involved and to promote the best interests of our communities,” Warren added.

Warren represents the 31st House District, consisting of Lower Makefield Township, most of Morrisville Borough, Newtown Borough, Newtown Township and Yardley.