Warren, Thomas Announce Council Rock to Receive School Safety Grant

HARRISBURG, May 1 – Reps. Wendi Thomas (R-Northampton) and Perry Warren (D-Newtown) announced that the Council Rock School District has been awarded a school safety grant of $48,000.

The grants were awarded by the School Safety and Security Committee within the Pennsylvania Commission on Crime and Delinquency (PCCD) as part of the School Safety and Security Grant Program, which was created by lawmakers in 2018.

“I want to thank the School Safety and Security Committee for recognizing Council Rock’s commitment to improving safety,” Thomas said.  “I also want to encourage the other school district’s in Bucks County to reach out to this valuable resource.”

“Our school personnel do a great job, not only in educating our students, but also in keeping them safe.” Warren said. “This grant will enable Council Rock to enhance the physical security of its facilities and to provide additional safety-related programming.”

Eligible uses for the grants include hiring school security officers, purchasing security-related technology, completing safety and security assessments, implementing violence prevention curricula, offering counseling services for students, and creating other programs to protect students.

A total of approximately $40 million was awarded for 234 projects throughout the state in the current round of funding. In total, the School Safety and Security Grant Program will provide $52.5 million in school safety grants and $7.5 million in community violence prevention grants in the current fiscal year.

Every school district in the state that submitted a meritorious application was awarded a $25,000 grant last October to improve school safety. The grants announced today were awarded on a competitive basis to schools that were seeking additional funding beyond the original grant.

PCCD received a total of 638 applications totaling $177.6 million for school safety projects in the current fiscal year.

A total of $7.5 million in grants were also awarded for community violence prevention initiatives.