Kosierowski announces nearly $500,000 in funding for parks, greenspace projects

HARRISBURG, Dec. 30 – State Rep. Bridget M. Kosierowski, D-Lackawanna, today announced a total of $499,000 in Community Conservation Partnership grants have been approved for projects that involve the improvement of parks and green spaces throughout northeast Pennsylvania.  

“Investments like these are vitally important to our communities, to our neighborhoods and families,” Kosierowski said. “Anytime you can enrich existing recreational offerings, or create new ones while making sound conservation efforts, you’re not just enriching the here and now, but impacting and enriching the lives of future generations.”

The grants include:

  • $250,000 to Dickson City Borough for the rehabilitation and further development of Bernard Siminski Park. The project includes construction of basketball, tennis, pickleball, and volleyball courts, a comfort station, dugouts, pedestrian walkway and parking area; installation of fencing; ADA access, landscaping, project signage, and other related site improvements.
  • $125,000 to Lackawanna County for the preparation of a feasibility study for the development of ATV trails in the county. The project will include a written, bound report.
  • $54,000 to Northeast PA Sno Trails Inc. for the purchase of equipment to construct and maintain approximately 250 miles of snowmobile trails within the NEP Sno Trails system in Lackawanna, Susquehanna and Wayne counties.
  • $70,000 to Greenfield Township for the development of the Greenfield Township Community Park. The project will include construction of a dog park, pedestrian walkway, internal loop trail, parking area and access drive; installation of fencing; ADA access, landscaping, project signage and other related site improvements.

According to Kosierowski, these grants are administered through the Pennsylvania Department of Conservation and Natural Resources with funding made possible via various state and federal programs.

Eligible applicants for these grants include counties, municipalities, municipal agencies, nonprofit organizations, state heritage areas, prequalified land trusts and for-profit enterprises (for some grant types).