Madden, McNeill re-elected to Northeast Delegation leadership; Kosierowski added to leadership team

HARRISBURG, Nov. 17 – Looking to build on their recent successes leading their regional committee, state Reps. Maureen Madden and Jeanne McNeill were reelected this week to the positions of chair and vice chair, respectively, of the Pennsylvania House of Representatives’ Northeast Democratic Delegation.

Additionally, Rep. Bridget Kosierowski was unanimously approved as the delegation’s new secretary/treasurer. All three leadership positions begin Dec. 1.

“I am honored my colleagues from the northeast delegation have again elected me to the position of chair, and I am excited to work closely with Representatives McNeill and Kosierowski and all our members to advocate for our region and assist our many district offices to best serve our diverse communities,” said Madden, D-Monroe, who was first elected to the House of Representatives in 2016 and will soon begin her second term as delegation chair.

“We have worked collectively to bring in millions of dollars for crucial projects that have and will continue to have enormous benefits for northeast Pennsylvania, and we have focused on ensuring our incredibly hard-working district office staffs have easy access to the resources necessary to help our constituents.”

Under the leadership of Madden and McNeill, the Northeast Democratic Delegation has supported a variety of projects. That has included securing millions of dollars in funding for passenger rail, for airport infrastructure, and for health care renovations and improvements.

“From Berks County to the Lehigh Valley to Scranton and Wilkes-Barre and the Poconos, we serve a geographically diverse region filled with passionate, industrious people who deserve the same from their elected officials,” said McNeill, D-Lehigh, who was first elected to the House of Representatives in 2017 and will soon begin her second term as delegation vice chair.

“I am grateful for the support from my colleagues, and I know we will do great things as a delegation during the 2023-24 legislative session.”

Kosierowski, D-Lackawanna, who was first elected to the House in 2019, will assume the newly created secretary/treasurer role for the delegation.

“I look forward to joining Representatives Madden and McNeill on this leadership team and working with them to highlight opportunities to support and advocate for issues, legislation and funding for our region,” Kosierowski said. “Northeast Pennsylvania is a wonderful place to live, to work, to play, and to raise a family, and we proudly fight for our communities.”

The Northeast Democratic Delegation in 2023-24 will include 16 Democratic members from Berks, Lehigh, Lackawanna, Luzerne, Monroe, Northampton and Pike counties. In addition to the leaders mentioned above, the list includes re-elected Reps. Robert Freeman, Manny Guzman, Kyle Mullins, Eddie Day Pashinski, Mark Rozzi, Steve Samuelson, Mike Schlossberg and Peter Schweyer, plus Rep.-Elects Johanny Cepeda-Freytiz, Kyle Donahue, James Haddock, Tarah Probst and Joshua Siegel.