Mission statement and history of the PLBC 

The Pennsylvania Legislative Black Caucus was founded in 1973. The purpose of the Pennsylvania Legislative Black Caucus is to serve as an information and advocacy vehicle to advance the interests of African American, Latino, and other people of color of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania.

The PLBC was organized by House Majority Leader K. Leroy Irvis during the 1973-74 legislative session. K. Leroy Irvis saw the need for the caucus because he felt that legislators representing minority districts needed to speak with a united voice regarding the issues and concerns of their constituents. 

Many of the original members of the first caucus were afraid to meet in an open forum. They met in secret for the first few meetings and were successful in establishing an agenda most of the members favored.

Current Chair

  • Representative Donna Bullock

Executive Director

        April Ashe

The members of the first organized PLBC were:
  • Senator Herbert Arlene
  • Senator Freeman Hankins
  • Representative K. Leroy Irvis, House Majority Leader
  • Representative Ulysses Shelton
  • Representative Joel J. Johnson
  • Representative Frank Oliver Sr.
  • Representative Dave Richardson
  • Representative Hardy Williams
  • Representative Lucien Blackwell
  • Representative Mitchell Melton
  • Representative Earl Vann
Former Chairs of the PLBC
  • Representative James Barber
  • Representative Dave P. Richardson, Jr.
  • Representative Frank Oliver Sr.
  • Representative Peter Truman
  • Representative Alfonso Deal
  • Representative Gordon Linton
  • Representative Vincent Hughes
  • Representative Harold James
  • Representative James R. Roebuck
  • Representative LeAnna M. Washington, first female chair
  • Representative Thaddeus Kirkland
  • Representative Ronald G. Waters
  • Representative Vanessa Lowery Brown
  • Representative Jordan A. Harris
  • Representative Stephen Kinsey